Wednesday Linkday, July 25, 2012

Marilyn Good morning to everyone. Today (Wednesday) is Linkday when group members share links to help each other out with their businesses.

I’ll start things out by sharing this excellent post with links to Twitter tools you may never have heard about. To be frank, several were new to me, as well. Explore the post and the links to these free tools to help you use Twitter for marketing, a subject we have recently been talking about in this group.

http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/twitter-tools-to-enhance-your-marketing/

Richard It’s LinkDay! – I love saying that!

I was on a friend’s page checking out what he has been up to since he moved to Wisconsin. While I was there I decided to check out the company he worked for. Wow! What a wonderful organization!

What really caught my eye was the variety of positive content. Then I noticed they have a steady rate of posts which is not too aggressive but appropriate.

This link is a good example of how we should all run our pages in order to maintain & grow our current audiences. http://www.facebook.com/LifeAtEpic

Marilyn This is one likable page. Couldn’t resist liking them myself. You are right. They do have a great mix of content and steady posts. You feel like you know them, too. Here’s a link to Mari Smith’s page. I like the way she mixes things up and provides plenty of valuable tips. https://www.facebook.com/marismith

I’m also going to add the Social Media Examiner page. Michael Stelzner has a lot of great things going, including networking clubs people can join to share ideas. https://www.facebook.com/smexaminer

I’ve already mentioned the Social Networking Academy:
https://www.facebook.com/socialnetworkingacademy

Susan I decided to share this link for Linkday on the importance of branding in the business world today. I found it really interesting. http://www.briansolis.com

Penny Great article, Susan. As the owner of a business that sells products promoting companies based on their unique branding, I couldn’t agree more!

Marilyn Business is no longer as usual and I also couldn’t resist watching the Steve Jobs video for inspiration today.

Joe Good Morning – Marilyn’s theme, and to tie into our weekly theme of communication, below listed is a link provided by Jamie Walters (the founder and Chief Vision & Strategy Officer at Ivy Sea, Inc. in San Francisco, CA) and co-author Sarah Fenson (Ivy Sea’s Guide to Client Services).

This article raises talking points pertaining to effectively communicating organizational change. http://www.inc.com/articles/2000/06/19312.html

Penny It’s a good article, Joe, it takes the “fear” out of change and provides a practical plan of action!

Marla Sorely missing from the list is top sponsorship. In Kotter’s research on companies that successfully implemented transformational change, this was the most critical factor. And I agree, it’s not about leaders dumping a series of PPTs on everyone or creating masses of initiatives and assuming people get the vision, the why, the how, the belief and the “what’s in it for me.” Leadership needs to get out and talk to the people in the trenches and show their support, visibility, share their stories, provide reinforcement and recognize progress. There is too much invisibility in the organizations I’ve consulted to. The masses of employees don’t see their leaders and lack belief in what their management is doing.

Marilyn Without top-down support changes like integrating social media into the business aren’t effective, either.

Phil At any given time, I have a handful of projects that I am working on. Depending on the project, I can be either the customer or the client. All of the projects require initiating and keeping track of communication, prioritizing, assigning or accepting tasks, sending or receiving files, etc.

A couple months ago, I started using SmartSheet to keep myself organized to to stay on track with external and internal projects.

SmartSheet has a free 30 day trial. Certainly worth checking out. The learning curve is pretty easy to master. http://www.smartsheet.com

Richard With everything on my plate right now I think I will give it a good look.

Rebekah For those of us who sell a tangible product, photography is key. In the age of the Internet it is the most important tool we have to connect customers to our product. While it would be ideal to hire a professional photographer, that doesn’t always fit into the budget. This link has been incredibly helpful to me in improving my photography skills when taking product photos.

http://www.tabletopstudio.com/TTS_Product_Photography_Tips.html

Phil Thank you for posting this. I have been looking around for a lighting system for some product photos that I want to do. There was a link that took me to lighting tents for cheap. Thank you so very much for this. This solved a need.

Marilyn Photography is key even for those who don’t sell tangible products.

Rebekah You are right, Marilyn. I see so many businesses using stock photography and I think customers respond so much more to something real.

Rebekah Richard, I don’t know if this is any help, but I thought it might be a good place to start. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWdqi7PJMtI

Penny For those of you who have websites but don’t have favicons and are unsure of how to create them manually, here is the link to a free favicon generator with detailed instructions!

Favicon Generator – http://www.favicongenerator.org

Phil I have a free favicon generator on my site too. Not as sophisticated as theirs…but allows you to upload your favicon to me and benefit from Inbound links.

Rebekah For those of us who sell a tangible product, photography is key. In the age of the Internet it is the most important tool we have to connect customers to our product. While it would be ideal to hire a professional photographer, that doesn’t always fit into the budget. This link has been incredibly helpful to me in improving my photography skills when taking product photos.

http://www.tabletopstudio.com/TTS_Product_Photography_Tips.html

Phil Thank you for posting this. I have been looking around for a lighting system for some product photos that I want to do. There was a link that took me to lighting tents for cheap. Thank you so very much for this. This solved a need.

Marilyn Thanks, Rebekah. Photography is key even for those who don’t sell tangible products.

Rebekah You are right Marilyn. I see so many businesses using stock photography and I think customers respond so much more to something real. Richard, I don’t know if this is any help, but I thought it might be a good place to start. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWdqi7PJMtI

Natalie Hey guys! For those of you who DON’T want to hone photography skills, but would be up for trading product for prophotography, check me out http://www.photolodico.com/

I have a commercial section in my gallery. I love helping out other artists and entrepreneurs. I’m also happy to share knowledge.

Marilyn Here’s a sobering link to remind us, too, to get off the Internet and engage in face-to-face conversations.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2012/07/08/is-the-internet-making-us-crazy-what-the-new-research-says.html

Melissa It is incredibly important to distance yourself and make sure you are involved in the real world. New age media is great, but like many other things in life- only in moderation. Being a young person who has lived through online worlds in the past, I can attest it severely stunts your ability to relate and interact with other people, and only dealing with people really improves that.

Leave a Reply

